How do you shoot/ build your panoramas?

• Hello everyone,

This is off topic *g* . I can't find the write section where to put this..

I've been shooting panoramas for a couple of months now but I my pano's suck. The colors are bland, sometimes the shots are out of focus. When I compare my panos with the ones I see here, mine are just plain ugly. So I'm asking help from you guys on how you shoot your panos. If you can share a tip or two that would really be helpful. I also have questions..

-Small fstop or large fstop? I've been shooting at small fstop but I read just now I should at large fstop..
    -manual or autofocus? I know its manual but I'm wondering maybe someone here uses autofocus?
    -Where do you set the focus if you have objects that are far and near. Eample mountains and a tree behind the camera. Do you focus on the tree or the mountain?
    -Do you do a lot of Post processing on photoshop to make the colors come alive? or to increase sharpness? so far what i do is adjust exposure(i shoot raw), white balance and thats it.
    -What are your display settings in krpano? fps, details, tessmode, movequality? Does these really make a big difference? I currently am not setting these values.
    -resolution when stitching? in ptgui I just select optimum size. Can i make this bigger?
    -cube?sphere? or multires?

this is my workflow. Is there something i need to improve?
    -shoot raw around 6-8 shots
    -post process. adjust exposure, white balance, save as jpeg
    -sticth ng ptgui using optimum size. generate equirectangular jpeg
    -use ktransform convert to cubes
    -edit nadir put my logo
    -create sphere with fixed nadir.
    -drag sphere image to SPHERE to CUBE MULTIRES droplet.bat.

Are there steps to add. incorrect procedures? things I can improve/change?

Sorry for the long post. I'm just getting a little frustrated *cry* . please help me.

Thanks,
    Milo

• Hi milotimbol,