Virtual tours - starting off

• Hello,

I am a programmer and one of my clients wants to provide virtual tours on his site. The requirement is to automate the process as much as possible; client uploads the photograph with some details and the application has to take care of everything else.
    First thing that will be needed is the photograph(s), and i am lost at that first step - spherical, cubical, stitching, overlap.... I am not much into photography so it is difficult for me to make sense of the of the lens, camera and focus things.
    I have been searching and stumbled upon this thread Looking for simple tutorial. It says that krpano kicks into action only after the panoramic picture is ready. So, what should the client do to generate the panoramic photograph? A single photo with the kind of lens provided here http://www.eyesee360.com/ , will that be sufficient? Would you suggest something else?

Thank you.

• Hi,

right, you need a panoramic image first

e.g. a full spherical image with 360x180°
    partial panos, that cover only a defined range will also work,
    but there you need the range that they cover (e.g. 100x30°)

a single photo like from a eyesee360 lens must be transformed first
    to an useable format (e.g. a spherical or cylindrical image)

best regards,
    Klaus

• Hello again,

When i edit a hotspot making use of the editor plugin, is it possible to save the changes to the xml file on the hard disk so that the next person viewing the tour can see the hotspot at the new location?
    I'm assuming it is not possible. Flash is client side and the xml file will be on the server, unless we allow the editor plugin some kind of access to the server it should not be possible. Am i right?

Thank you.

• Hi,

I'm assuming it is not possible. Flash is client side and the xml file will be on the server, unless we allow the editor plugin some kind of access to the server it should not be possible. Am i right?